Shuttler P V Sindhu wins TOISA’s Sportsperson of the Year award

in Blog/National News/Sports by

Ace shuttler and Rio Olympics silver medalist P V Sindhu was today bestowed the Best Sportsperson of the Year Award at Times of India Sports Awards (TOISA) at Mumbai.

Sindhu was also given the Best Badminton Player for the Year Award, selected by the jury. Shuttler Kidambi Srikanth bagged the Best Badminton Player Award in the People’s Choice category. Doyen of India hockey Ajit Pal Singh was bestowed the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award for Best Player for Cricket was bagged by off-spinner R Ashwin and the People’s Choice Award for Cricket went to India team skipper Virat Kohli. BCCI CEO Rahul Johri received the awards on their behalf.

Wrestler Sakshi Malik, who won a bronze medal at the Rio Games, was conferred Best Wrestler of the Year award. The Best Billiards player award was bagged by ace cuiest Pankaj Advani. The Best Hockey Player of the Year award was bagged by Rupinder Pal Singh. The People’s Choice Award for Hockey Player of the Year was conferred on V R Raghunath.

The Best Archer of the Year Award was bagged by Atanu Das, while Lalita Babar received the Best Athlete Award. Her sister received the award on her behalf. The Best Chess Player of the Year Award was given to Harika Dronavalli.

Dipa Karmakar, who narrowly missed a medal at the 2016 Rio quadrennial games, was honoured with the Best Player Award for gymnastics. She was also given the Inspiration of the Year Award.
The Best Boxer of the Year Award was bagged by Vikas Krishan. The People’s Choice Award in this category went to Vijender Singh.

In rowing, the Best Player of the Year Award was received by Dattu Bhokanal. The Best Coach award was given to two people – National Badminton coach P Gopichand, and Dipa’s coach Bisweshwar Nandi.

The Emerging Player of the Year Award was bagged by Delhi wicket keeper-batsman Rishabh Pant. The Best Team of the Year Award was conferred on the Junior Men’s Hockey Team. The Best State of the Year Award was given to Haryana, whose Sports Minister Anil Vij received the honour.

Deepa Malik, Devendra Jhajharia, Varun Bhati and Mariyappan Thangavelu were given Best Paralympians awards. Malik and Jhajharia were present at the function.

Awards for best players in tennis, table tennis, shooting, squash among other sports were also announced.

Meanwhile, legendary Romanian gymnast Nadia Comaneci, the mentor for these awards, heaped praise on Dipa, saying what she has done for gymnastics is amazing.